shortcut
May 21, 2018

Budget Development Calendar

For the 2018-19 school year budget

 

Budget work sessions begin at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school cafeteria. As with all Board of Education meetings, the public is welcome and encouraged to attend. The Board will tentatively adopt a proposed budget on April 17. Your input prior to that date is important.

Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2018: Board of Education (BOE) meeting, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria: Adopt budget planning calendar

Tuesday, Jan. 23: BOE meeting, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria 

Tuesday, Feb. 13: BOE meeting/budget work session, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria

Tuesday, Feb. 27: BOE Meeting/budget work session, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria

Thursday, March 1: Submit tax levy limit to the Office of State Comptroller

Tuesday, March 13: BOE meeting/budget work session, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria

Tuesday, March 27: BOE meeting/community budget presentation, 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria

Friday, March 30: Daily Gazette Legal Notice #1 of 4, at least 45 days before meeting

Thursday, April 12: Daily Gazette Legal Notice #2 of 4

Monday, April 16: Last day to submit Board of Education candidate petitions. Three 3-year term seats are open: Dirk Felton, Christina Loukides, Joshua Menzies. Petitions are due by 5 p.m. at the DCS central office.

Tuesday, April 17: Board of Education meeting, 6:30 pm., ES cafeteria, Adopt Proposed Budget for 2018-19 school year
                              Drawing for Board of Education candidate ballot positions (per NYS Education Law 2032 2b, day after petitions are due)

Wednesday, April 18: Submit Property Tax Report Card to SED & local newspaper (required within 24 hours of budget adoption)

Wednesday, April 25: Special Board of Education meeting to vote on BOCES administrative budget – time to be determined, DCS central office              conference room
                          Absentee Ballot applications available online and at DCS central office
                          Daily Gazette Legal Notice #3 of 4

Tuesday, May 8: Public Budget Hearing (Presentation of adopted budget), followed by Board of Ed. meeting – 6:30 p.m., ES cafeteria. Adopted budget available to public

Wednesday, May 9: Mail budget notice/budget newsletter

Thursday, May 10: Meet the Candidates Night, 7 p.m./TBD, sponsored by PTA

Monday, May 14: Daily Gazette Legal Notice #4 of 4

Tuesday, May 15: Annual budget vote and BOE election, 1-9 p.m., DCS Central Offices (adjacent to HS), followed by a brief BOE Meeting to accept budget vote and BOE election results.




[NEWS ARCHIVE]